Why This Study Matters
Perioperative chemoimmunotherapy has become standard for early-stage resectable NSCLC, yet the authors note that approximately 20% of patients across phase 3 studies did not proceed to surgery, most often because of disease progression, toxicity or a clinical decision. In the US real-world REASON study, 167 of 484 patients (34.5%) with stage II–III NSCLC treated with neoadjuvant nivolumab plus chemotherapy did not proceed to surgery. Resectability definitions also vary, particularly for borderline resectable stage III disease. MDT-BRIDGE asks whether structured multidisciplinary team (MDT) assessment, at baseline and again after two neoadjuvant cycles, can direct each patient to the most suitable curative-intent route.
Study Design
MDT-BRIDGE is a global, nonrandomized, single-arm phase 2 study in patients with resectable and borderline resectable stage IIB–IIIB NSCLC confirmed as EGFR and ALK wild type. All patients received two cycles of neoadjuvant durvalumab plus platinum-based chemotherapy every 3 weeks, followed by MDT reassessment. Patients judged resectable received one to two further cycles and then surgery; those judged unresectable received standard-of-care chemoradiotherapy (CRT) for approximately 6 weeks. After surgery or CRT, all patients were to receive durvalumab every 4 weeks for up to 1 year (adjuvant after surgery, consolidation after CRT). The primary endpoint was the overall resection rate, descriptive with no formal hypothesis testing.
142 patients in the full analysis set (201 screened); 43 sites in 11 countries; single-arm, nonrandomized; median 3 neoadjuvant durvalumab cycles (range 2–4). Specific drug doses are not specified in the source passages summarized here.
Patient Population
Enrollment ran from 22 February 2024 to 2 July 2025. At baseline MDT assessment 92 patients (64.8%) were resectable and 50 (35.2%) borderline resectable. Median age was 67.0 years (range, 46–82); 65 (45.8%) were female; 129 (90.8%) were enrolled in Europe and 13 (9.2%) in North America; 88 (62.0%) had ECOG PS 0; 57 (40.1%) had squamous and 83 (58.5%) nonsquamous histology. Stage was IIB in 29 (20.4%), IIIA in 78 (54.9%) and IIIB in 34 (23.9%). Compared with the resectable cohort, more borderline resectable patients had stage IIIB disease and T4 primary tumors (T4: 25 of 50, 50.0%, vs 25 of 92, 27.2%).
Primary Endpoint: Resection Rate
This multidisciplinary team-guided approach was feasible and enabled delivery of curative-intent treatment (surgery or CRT), followed by durvalumab in most patients
— Reck et al., Nature Medicine 2026 (abstract)
Overall, 106 of 142 patients underwent resection (74.6%). After MDT reassessment, 120 patients were deemed resectable and 20 unresectable; two discontinued before reassessment. Of 120 patients considered resectable after reassessment, 14 ultimately did not undergo surgery. Of the 50 borderline resectable patients, 38 (76.0%) were reclassified as resectable after two cycles; 12 of 50 (24.0%) completed CRT and 43 of 50 (86.0%) ultimately received local therapy of any form.
Subgroup Analyses
All results below are descriptive; the study had no formal hypothesis testing and no comparator arm. The source reports no subgroup hazard ratios or p-values.
| Endpoint | All patients | Resectable at baseline | Borderline resectable at baseline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Resection rate (95% CI) | 74.6% (66.7–81.6) | 81.5% (72.1–88.9) | 62.0% (47.2–75.3) |
| R0 rate among resected (95% CI) | 96.2% (90.6–99.0), n = 106 | 96.0% (88.8–99.2), n = 75 | 96.8% (83.3–99.9), n = 31 |
| pCR (95% CI) | 23.2% (16.6–31.1), FAS | 31.3% (21.6–42.4) | 18.4% (7.7–34.3) |
Among 121 patients in the resectable patients cohort, 76 achieved an objective response (ORR 62.8%; 95% CI, 53.6–71.4); in the unresectable cohort, 4 of 21 (ORR 19.0%; 95% CI, 5.4–41.9). Among 25 CRT-treated patients, 84.0% had an objective response (n = 13) or stable disease (n = 8).
Event-Free and Progression-Free Survival
At 14.1% data maturity (20 of 142 events), 12-month EFS was 88.5% (95% CI, 81.5–92.9). In the resectable patients cohort it was 90.1% (95% CI, 82.8–94.4), rising to 92.9% (95% CI, 85.5–96.6) among those resected. 12-month PFS was 75.1% (95% CI, 45.2–90.2) in the unresectable patients cohort and 85.0% (95% CI, 59.8–95.0) in CRT-treated patients. Median follow-up in censored patients was 10.9 months (range, 1.0–20.2) for the primary EFS analysis. Overall survival was not reported owing to data maturity.
Exploratory ctDNA Clearance
In the 107-patient biomarker-evaluable population, 90 patients could be assessed for clearance from baseline to presurgery/pre-CRT; 33 of 90 (36.7%) cleared. Clearance was 40.6% (28 of 69) in patients deemed resectable versus 23.8% (5 of 21) in those deemed unresectable at reassessment. Among resected patients, 12-month EFS was 100.0% with ctDNA clearance (0 of 28 events) versus 88.9% (95% CI, 72.8–95.7; 5 of 40 events) without. These are small, descriptive subsets with few events.
Safety Profile
| Period / cohort | Any-grade AEs | Grade 3/4 AEs | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Postsurgery (n = 106) | 83.0% | 22.6% | AEs possibly related to surgery 21.7%; imAEs 7.5% |
| CRT period (n = 25) | 88.0% | 28.0% | Treatment-related AEs 64.0%; one imAE |
| Adjuvant, resected (n = 94) | 88.3% | 7.4% | Discontinuation due to AEs 8.5% |
| Consolidation, CRT-treated (n = 23) | 82.6% | 17.4% | Discontinuation due to AEs 13.0% |
Across the whole study (N = 142), the most common any-grade AEs were anemia (36.6%), nausea (36.6%), asthenia (33.8%), constipation (28.9%) and diarrhea (26.8%); the most common grade 3/4 AEs were neutropenia (10.6%), anemia (4.9%), and diarrhea and fatigue (2.8% each). Three patients (2.1%) had an AE leading to death (cardiac failure, interstitial lung disease, and death not otherwise specified). Pneumonitis events occurred in 13 patients (9.2%). The authors conclude the safety profile was consistent with the established durvalumab profile and that no new safety signals were identified.
Interpretation and Broader Context
The authors interpret the findings as supporting a strategy that links the surgical (AEGEAN-like) and definitive CRT (PACIFIC-like) pathways under MDT guidance, with more than 92% of patients receiving curative-intent treatment. They note that comparison of the 12-month EFS of 88.5% with AEGEAN should be interpreted with caution because AEGEAN excluded patients requiring pneumonectomy and those with T4 invasion. They also state that ctDNA clearance (40.6% presurgery in resectable patients) was lower than reported in AEGEAN (66%) and CheckMate 77T (66%), likely reflecting differences in assay sensitivity. This report is not a treatment recommendation.
Limitations
The trial is single-arm and nonrandomized with no formal hypothesis testing, so it cannot show that MDT-guided treatment is better than any alternative strategy. EFS data are immature (14.1% maturity), follow-up is short, and overall survival is not yet reported. Baseline resectability was judged locally without predefined protocol criteria. The ctDNA and subgroup analyses are descriptive and rest on small subsets with few events. The study was funded by AstraZeneca, which participated in study design, data collection, analysis, interpretation and writing of the report.