Why This Study Matters
Dedifferentiated liposarcoma (DDLPS) is a rare soft tissue sarcoma that accounts for approximately 15% to 20% of liposarcomas and is associated with high rates of local and metastatic recurrence. For nearly five decades, intravenous doxorubicin-based chemotherapy has been the standard-of-care first-line treatment for advanced, unresectable disease. Almost all DDLPS have amplification of MDM2, which suppresses the tumor suppressor p53. Brigimadlin is an oral MDM2–p53 antagonist; in a phase Ia/Ib trial in pretreated patients, 16 of 86 patients with DDLPS (19%) had a complete or partial response and preliminary median PFS was 8.1 months. Brightline-1 tested whether this activity would translate into a first-line advantage over doxorubicin.
Study Design
Brightline-1 was a multinational, open-label, randomized phase II/III trial. In phase II, patients were randomized 1:1:1 to brigimadlin 30 mg, brigimadlin 45 mg, or intravenous doxorubicin 75 mg/m², all every 3 weeks. After a preplanned dose-selection analysis, brigimadlin 45 mg every 3 weeks was carried forward; in phase III patients were randomized 1:1 to brigimadlin 45 mg or doxorubicin 75 mg/m². Randomization was stratified by extent of disease (locally advanced vs metastatic). Doxorubicin was given up to a maximum cumulative dose of 450 mg/m², and patients in the doxorubicin arm could cross over to brigimadlin after centrally confirmed progression.
400 patients enrolled; 148 (brigimadlin 45 mg) versus 162 (doxorubicin) analyzed; 107 sites in 21 countries; randomization 1:1:1 (phase II) then 1:1 (phase III); brigimadlin 45 mg and doxorubicin 75 mg/m² every 3 weeks.
Patient Population
Eligible adults had histologically proven, MDM2-amplified, locally advanced or metastatic, unresectable, progressive, or recurrent DDLPS, at least one RECIST 1.1 measurable lesion, ECOG performance status 0 or 1, and no prior systemic or anthracycline-based treatment. Enrollment ran from April 13, 2022 to August 22, 2023. In the analyzed groups, median age was 65.5 years (brigimadlin) and 65 years (doxorubicin); 69.6% and 64.2% of patients, respectively, had metastatic disease; MDM2 amplification was centrally confirmed by FISH in 140 (94.6%) and 145 (89.5%) patients. Data cutoff was May 17, 2024.
Primary Endpoint Results
The primary endpoint was PFS by blinded independent central review. With 86 and 103 events in the brigimadlin and doxorubicin groups, median PFS was 8.4 months versus 7.2 months (HR, 0.79; 95% CI, 0.6–1.06; P = 0.0956). The median time to PFS censoring was 10.6 months (95% CI, 8.5–13.6) and 10.9 months (95% CI, 8.7–12.7). By investigator review, median PFS was 9.4 months versus 7.2 months (HR, 0.69; 95% CI, 0.51–0.93); because of the per-protocol hierarchical ranking of endpoints, investigator-assessed PFS and response could not be formally tested. Overall survival data were immature (41 and 44 events).
The median PFS with doxorubicin was substantially longer than anticipated when the trial was designed.
— Schöffski et al., Discussion, Clin Cancer Res 2026
| Endpoint (intent-to-treat) | Brigimadlin 45 mg (N = 148) | Doxorubicin (N = 162) |
|---|---|---|
| Median PFS, central review | 8.4 months | 7.2 months |
| Confirmed objective response | 33 (22.3%) | 14 (8.6%) |
| Disease control rate | 86.5% | 72.2% |
| Median duration of response | 9.9 months (95% CI, 9.72–not evaluable) | 10.0 months (95% CI, 9.9–15.4) |
| Median total exposure | 4.9 months (range, 0.03–19.6) | 3.5 months (range, 0.03–6.1) |
Subgroup and Exploratory Analyses
PFS across predefined subgroups is presented only as a forest plot (Figure 2B) in the source; subgroup-level hazard ratios are not specified in the text and are therefore not reproduced here. The text reports the following exploratory results.
| Analysis | Result (as reported) |
|---|---|
| Doxorubicin-arm patients who crossed over to brigimadlin (n = 77) | Median PFS 5.3 months by central review |
| MDM2 copy number (high vs low) and PFS, brigimadlin arm | HR, 1.0347; 95% CI, 0.9665–1.1077; adjusted P = 0.372 |
| MDM2 copy number (top vs bottom 33%) and PFS, doxorubicin arm | HR, 1.1026; 95% CI, 1.0205–1.1913; adjusted P = 0.0133 |
| Baseline TP53, JAK-STAT, EGFR pathway activity (brigimadlin arm) | Associated with prolonged PFS; high PI3K and MAPK activity associated with shorter PFS (Figure 4A) |
| Pharmacodynamics | Significant (>2-fold) upregulation of TP53-regulated genes including MDM2, CDKN1A, BBC3, BAX and GDF15; PROGENy p53 pathway activity 25-fold vs 2.3-fold with doxorubicin |
| Predictive biomarkers | No biomarkers predictive of efficacy were identified |
Safety Profile
Safety populations were 147 (brigimadlin) and 154 (doxorubicin). Any-grade adverse events occurred in 99.3% and 99.4%. Hematologic toxicity dominated with brigimadlin: grade 3/4 neutropenia in 54 patients (36.7%) and thrombocytopenia in 41 (27.9%); six patients (4.1%) had grade ≥3 thrombocytopenia with hemorrhage, and 17 (11.6%) received platelet transfusions. One case of febrile neutropenia (grade 3) was reported with no neutropenic sepsis. No cases of myelodysplastic syndrome or leukemia were reported, although follow-up was relatively short. There were three on-study deaths: one assisted suicide and one cerebral infarction (brigimadlin) and one disease progression (doxorubicin).
| Adverse event, n (%) | Brigimadlin (N = 147) | Doxorubicin (N = 154) |
|---|---|---|
| Any grade ≥3 AE | 98 (66.7) | 95 (61.7) |
| Any serious AE | 57 (38.8) | 42 (27.3) |
| AE leading to dose reduction | 71 (48.3) | 52 (33.8) |
| AE leading to discontinuation | 33 (22.4) | 9 (5.8) |
| Neutropenia: any grade / grade 3–4 | 87 (59.2) / 54 (36.7) | 84 (54.5) / 70 (45.5) |
| Thrombocytopenia: any grade / grade 3–4 | 83 (56.5) / 41 (27.9) | 24 (15.6) / 7 (4.5) |
| Nausea: any grade / grade 3–4 | 112 (76.2) / 3 (2) | 90 (58.4) / 1 (0.6) |
| Fatigue: any grade / grade 3–4 | 111 (75.5) / 13 (8.8) | 104 (67.5) / 12 (7.8) |
| Anemia: any grade / grade 3–4 | 53 (36.1) / 19 (12.9) | 63 (40.9) / 18 (11.7) |
| Leukopenia: any grade / grade 3–4 | 35 (23.8) / 20 (13.6) | 41 (26.6) / 25 (16.2) |
| Alopecia: any grade / grade 3–4 | 32 (21.8) / 0 | 67 (43.5) / 1 (0.6) |
Interpretation and Broader Context
The authors conclude that although brigimadlin showed activity, the primary endpoint was not met, and that the safety profile of brigimadlin did not seem to be more manageable than that of doxorubicin. They note that the doxorubicin median PFS of 7.2 months "represents a new benchmark" relative to historical retrospective estimates of 2 to 4 months, offer possible explanations (earlier treatment start than in routine practice, inclusion of patients with progressive disease after prior nonsystemic therapy, and variable well-differentiated and dedifferentiated tumor components), and point out that the phase III MANTRA study of milademetan as second-line treatment (NCT04979442) also failed to meet its primary endpoint. Patient-reported quality-of-life data showed a consistent trend favoring brigimadlin across EORTC QLQ-C30 domains analyzed. Translational results, according to the authors, "will guide future clinical investigations of MDM2-p53 antagonists," and further optimization of dose and schedule may be important.
Limitations
Limitations noted in the source: overall survival data were immature at cutoff; response and investigator-assessed PFS were not formally testable because of the hierarchical endpoint ranking; follow-up for long-term hematologic safety was short. The trial was open-label, and the source does not specify subgroup-level hazard ratios in the text.